Old Sarum – A Glimpse of the Hidden Geometry

    • petervdburg
    • July 14th, 2010

    I love this place. Discuss cropcircles from a livingroom. Give it time to sink in instead of being the first to report. The only thing missing is a glass of wine to go with it. My compliments.

    I don’t believe that Old Sarum however was the first formation to appear in a 45 degrees projection. The first formation in ’07, Oliver’s castle http://www.lucypringle.co.uk/photos/2007/uk2007aa.shtml#pic2
    can be seen too as a three dimensional object, a tunnel, aswell as the Wormhole formations of ’06. I guess it’s all about the coice wheter one wishes to se a pattern as a projection of a three dimensional object or not.

    Furthermore i can understand why the circlemakers choose to use different kind of projections; You could say that they use 30 degrees projection for cubes, and 45 degrees projection for circulair objects. That way they can use the same hexagonical grid. It’s the most easiest and convienient choice.
    As far as i know a formation in Eas Kennet in ’08
    http://www.lucypringle.co.uk/photos/2008/uk2008aw.shtml#pic2
    is the only one that does not obey this rule

    • Blealmott
    • June 8th, 2010

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian,Earn Free Vouchers / Cash

    • Pandora
    • June 3rd, 2010

    Thank you once again for the explanation of the geometry
    of the Old Sarum Formation. Mr. Glickman has given me a glimpse of the hidden geometry contained in this formation, he has the gift of a great teacher, and I am so pleased to be able to log on here and see Mr. Glickman in action. (I live in Spain) Another lovely Video in the field of Oil seed rape, which we can now see is an Incredibly difficult medium in which to design such a complex pattern, with this crops very easily broken and brittle stems and loose flower heads which fall apart at the slightest touch! Once again, thank you both so much; I shall be looking forward to reading more about your research on your great site,

    Love and light,
    Pandora

  1. A wonderful piece of work… the Universal Light shines brightly through both of you in this blog… With Love, Bradfield

    • Blealmott
    • May 23rd, 2010

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

    • Igor
    • May 19th, 2010

    Hello Michael and Gary,

    Thank you very much for this wonderful video with beautiful insights on this fantastic starter of the season. I love it when you bring in the history and links to other past formations. It brings perspective for people who are new to the phenomenon.

    Thanks and hope to see more.

    Igor

  2. This is not to challenge the completely unfathomable unravelling of magic derived from a wise man’s mind, it is simply another view seen from a puzzled woman’s perspective.

    On the day of this beautiful first crop circle of the season, I, a Fine Art Hons student, travelled with my semester 2 project “The Nomadic Circle”, which was “born” out of interest in crop circles and a quest for identity and spirituality.

    My circle was created from branches, pieces of wood, large twigs gathered in sacred places, recent as well as ancient. Every place the circle travelled to, material was lost and added, but all along the way, the circle had the same dimension.

    In total, the circle visited 6 places, among them Avebury, Silbury Hill, Alton Barnes, Stonehenge, an area on Salisbury Plains with a vast area of fairy rings, and my back garden, in which a beautiful shining orb hovered over the centre. The following day, the circle would come with me to Winchester School of Art where it was going to be during the assessment period in a setting of huge man made structures and large boulders of limestone just on the boundaries of nature.

    The fact that the orb shone at me from the photographic image was in itself an approval of my work, but discovering that the first circle of the season had been discoverd at Old Sarum was enigmatic! And, later looking at the images and diagrams of the formation and then discovering the small circle had the same diameter as my “nomad” can only be described as immense. But let me now go completely insane:

    The main formation had:

    6 bands (I placed my circle in 6 different places that very day)

    2 “eyes” (in every place I stood in the centre of the circle and said a prayer to EARTH and HEAVEN to look after my loved ones and myself and to bless my project)

    7 small circles (the “nomad” had been placed in 6 locations on the 5th, the 7th location was going to be Winchester)

    Please be told that I am not trying to be pretentious, but I had to share my experience. For years I have been roaming the old, sacred landscape both in all seasons and all weather – and I have had profound experiences, but never an experience like this one. For the first time, I felt that the vast landscape opened up and let me in.

    I am not an architect with skills within advanced geometry and I cannot express how I greatly admire the wisdom of Michael Glickman, but I have to finish on this note that for a brief moment I felt a connection with “the girls upstairs”.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

